I can already tell I’m going to love it here…

15 hours of turbulence and a missed connecting flight later and we have officially arrived in Cape Town, South Africa! During the bus ride from the airport to our houses, I was overwhelmed with many emotions:

1. This isn’t real. This place is beautiful and there’s no way I’ve been given the opportunity to call this place my home for the next 3 and a half months.

222

(Picture of Table Mountain that I took from the bus; breathtaking right? More to come…)

2. Shoutout to my mom for making me cry when I connected to the internet and saw her Facebook post about me leaving. I miss my friends and family already but I know I’ll still be in touch regardless of the time difference and miles apart.

After arriving to our houses we all picked rooms and began to settle in. I’ll post pictures later but the house is really really great. I think one of the things I love most here is all the trees and plants everywhere. It just feels like home.  Anyway, after settling in, we all dressed up and when out for dinner at a Thai place. It was quite a different experience I must say.  We spent almost 3 hours at dinner because the service was much slower than in the U.S.. But the thing is: I loved that. Instead of sitting down at a restaurant back home and being rushed and done with a meal within 45 minutes, we were able to take our time and talk with one another about so so much. Because of that I can already say that I am becoming close with the 25 other people I am spending my time abroad with. They are truly great people and I’m feeling really blessed.

Today was a good day, and it’s been less than 12 hours since we landed. I can already tell I’m going to love it here….

Leave a comment