Excited for what’s to come!

It’s only day two and I’ve already begun losing track of the days here.   The days go by so quickly and it feels like we’ve been here so much longer because I’m already so comfortable here.

Today was a big shopping day for us all.  We were given lots of time to shop on Main Road to take out money and buy essentials that we were unable to pack in our suitcases (shampoo, sunscreen, converters, etc.). It was almost a little funny when I was asked for 500 rand (the currency in South Africa) and I freaked out thinking I just spend like all my money but in reality it was only around 50 American dollars. One of those things I’m sure I will get used to!!

After lunch and a little more shopping we went back to the houses to freshen up before heading to the Cape Town vs. Mali soccer game!! It was so so fun. I have pictures but I can’t figure out how to upload them from my camera to my laptop so hopefully I’ll figure that out soon. Anyway, the stadium was hugeee and all the fans were so lively and energetic it was just an absolutely amazing environment to be in. Something weird was that instead of counting down the minutes left in the game, they count up. So by the end of the game the scoreboard read: “90:00″….so weird but I can dig it. It ended up being a tie game but even though there was no win, all the Cape Town fans started big chants and songs. Everyone’s just so happy here it’s really really great.

We got our itinerary for what we have planned for us for the next two weeks and I am getting more and more excited by the minute looking at what’s to come. I am also looking forward to starting our internships in just about a week and a half. While I may not have as much time to blog when those and classes start, I will try to post at least once a week to let everyone know what’s going on (mostly for you mom…:))

Sending international love to everyone back home xoxo

Leave a comment